Direkt zum Inhalt

ENVI Relevant Legislative Areas of the EU-US Trade and Investment Partnership Negotiations (TTIP)

Print PDF

ENVI Relevant Legislative Areas of the EU-US Trade and Investment Partnership Negotiations (TTIP)

Study for the ENVI Committee

Publikation
Zitiervorschlag

Mudgal, Shailendra; Katherine Salès; Alice Landowski et al. 2014: ENVI Relevant Legislative Areas of the EU-US Trade and Investment Partnership Negotiations (TTIP). BIO by Deloitte, Ecologic Institute, Institute for European Environmental Policy. ISBN: 978-92-823-6137-5 (paper), 978-92-823-6136-8 (pdf).

Eine aktuelle Studie zu regulatorischen Unterschieden zwischen den USA und der EU versorgt die Mitglieder des Ausschusses für Umweltfragen, öffentliche Gesundheit und Lebensmittelsicherheit (ENVI Committee) des Europäischen Parlaments mit der nötigen Expertise zu den laufenden Verhandlungen zum Transatlantischen Handels- und Investitionsschutzabkommen (TTIP). Ein Team des Ecologic Instituts hat die Studie gemeinsam mit BIO IS und dem Institute for European Environmental Policy verfasst. Die Studie ist eine Folgestudie zu einer Studie aus dem Jahr 2013 zu "Legal Implications of TTIP for the Acquis Communautaire in ENVI Relevant Sectors". Beide Studien stehen zum Download zur Verfügung.

Das erklärte Ziel der TTIP-Verhandlungen, die im Juli 2013 begannen, ist die Förderung des Handels von Waren und Dienstleistungen zwischen beiden Seiten des Atlantiks und die Steigerung von Investitionen auf beiden Seiten. Dies soll durch den Abbau von Handelshemmnissen erreicht werden, was sowohl Zölle als auch nicht-tariffäre Handelshemmnisse wie Unterschiede in der Regulierung einschließt. Es gibt allerdings wesentliche Unterschiede in den Regulierungssystemen der EU und der USA. Deswegen besteht besonders in der Zivilgesellschaft die Sorge, dass die Verhandlungen über eine Harmonisierung von Regulierung dazu führen könnten, Gesundheits- und Umweltschutz zu untergraben.

Vor diesem Hintergrund beleuchtet und vergleicht die Studie die Hauptunterschiede in der EU und US-Gesetzgebung in acht TTIP-relevanten Bereichen: medizinische Produkte für den menschlichen Gebrauch und medizinische Geräte, Kosmetik, Lebensmittel und Ernährung, Gesundheits- und Pflanzenschutz (SPS), Nanomaterialien, Klonen, Rohstoffe und Energie sowie Kraftfahrzeuge.

Die Studie weist darauf hin, dass das Ausmaß der Unterschiede zwischen den regulatorischen Systemen der EU und der USA je nach Bereich unterschiedlich groß ist; diese beeinflusst auch die Anforderungen an und die Chancen für Zusammenarbeit und Angleichung der Rechtssysteme.

Unterschiede zwischen Regulierungssystemen und Ansätzen der Risikoanalyse

In manchen Fällen kommt die Studie zu dem Ergebnis, dass die Unterschiede so signifikant sind, dass es unwahrscheinlich und nichts wünschenswert ist, dass sie überbrückt werden können; dies gilt vor allem dort wo die EU ein verbindliches System hat während die USA auf ein nur teilweise bindendes oder freiwilliges setzt. Dies ist beispielsweise bei Kosmetik und Klonen der Fall. In den Bereichen Nahrungsmittelsicherheit und SPS-Maßnahmen könnten unterschiedliche Ansätze bei der Risikoanalyse die Annäherung der Regulierung erschweren; so setzt die EU beispielsweise stärker auf einen Vorsorgeansatz, die US stärker auf gesicherte wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse.

Annäherung durch technische Kooperation und gegenseitige Anerkennung von Standards

In Bereichen, in denen die Unterschiede zwischen den regulatorischen Systemen der EU und der USA vor allem technischer Natur sind, könnte eine größere Annäherung durch verstärkte technische Kooperation oder gegenseitige Anerkennung von Umweltstandards ohne wesentliche Auswirkungen auf das Schutzniveau erreicht werden. Ein Beispiel sind manche technischen Standards für Kraftfahrzeuge. In Bereichen in denen es bisher keine bindenden Regelungen auf beiden Seiten des Atlantiks gibt, z.B. für Nanomaterialien, könnte eine Annäherung durch wissenschaftliche und technische Kooperation und bessere Koordinierung zwischen europäischen und amerikanischen Behörden erreicht werden.

Das Team des Ecologic Instituts hat zu der Studie insbesondere einen Überblick über die EU-Regulierung zum Klonen von Tieren sowie die US-Regulierung zu Umweltanforderungen an Kraftstoffe, Fracking, SPS-Maßnahmen und Lebensmittelsicherheit beigetragen.

Kontakt

Mehr Inhalte aus diesem Projekt

Sprache
Englisch
Autorenschaft
Max Grünig
Elizabeth Dooley JD, LLM
Elizabeth Tedsen JD
Shailendra Mudgal (BIO by Deloitte)
Katherine Salès (BIO by Deloitte)
Alice Landowski (BIO by Deloitte)
Otto Kern (BIO by Deloitte)
Juliette Mansard (BIO by Deloitte)
Martin Nesbit (Institute for European Environmental Policy)
Kamila Paquel (Institute for European Environmental Policy)
Sirini Withana (Institute for European Environmental Policy)
Finanzierung
Jahr
Umfang
96 S.
ISBN
978-92-823-6137-5 (paper), 978-92-823-6136-8 (pdf)
DOI
Projekt
Projekt-ID
Inhaltsverzeichnis
Schlüsselwörter
Handel, Investitionen, TTIP, Transatlantische Handels- und Investitionspartnerschaft, Umweltregulierung, medizinische Produkte, Kosmetik, Nahrung, Kennzeichnung, Gesundheits- und Pflanzenschutz, SPS, Nanomaterialien, Klonen, Rohmaterialien, Energie, Kraftfahrzeuge, Verbraucherschutz
EU, USA

• English
  • Deutsch
Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon
Twitter icon
YouTube icon
Header image Ecologic

ENVI Relevant Legislative Areas of the EU-US Trade and Investment Partnership Negotiations (TTIP)

ENVI Relevant Legislative Areas of the EU-US Trade and Investment Partnership Negotiations (TTIP)

Study for the ENVI Committee

A recent study provides the members of the European Parliament Committee on Environment, Public Health, and Food Safety (ENVI Committee) with the needed expertise to monitor the ongoing negotiations between the United States and the European Commission for the Transatlantic Trade and Investment Partnership (TTIP) agreement. The study was co-authored by Ecologic Institute, Bio IS, and the Institute for European Environmental Policy (IEEP) and serves as a follow-up to a 2013 study entitled "Legal Implications of TTIP for the Acquis Communautaire in ENVI Relevant Sectors." Both studies are available for download.

The stated objective of the TTIP negotiations, which were launched in July 2013, is to facilitate commercial exchanges of goods and services between both sides of the Atlantic and to enhance investments on each side. This is to be achieved through the removal of trade barriers, which include tariffs and non-tariff measures such as differences in regulations. There are however substantial regulatory differences between the EU and the US. TTIP negotiations therefore raise concerns, notably among members of civil society, that harmonisation that could result from these negotiations may undermine the levels of protection of public health and safety, and the environment.

Against this background, this study compares and highlights the main differences in key EU and US legislation in eight TTIP-relevant areas: medicinal products for human use and medical devices; cosmetics; food and nutrition; sanitary and phyto-sanitary; nanomaterials; cloning; raw materials and energy; and motor vehicles.

The analysis of the study suggests that the degree of divergence between the regulatory systems of the EU and the US, and thus the development of future requirements and potential collaboration, varies depending on the area concerned.

Differences between regulatory systems and approaches to risk analysis

In some cases, the study concludes that the differences are so significant that they seem unlikely to be bridged, in particular where the EU has a binding system in place whereas the US has a system which is partially binding or voluntary, which is the case for cosmetics and cloning. Concerning the areas of food safety and sanitary and phyto-sanitary measures, the diverging approaches to risk analysis, e.g. a precautionary approach in the EU vs a “sound-science” approach in the US, may also further complicate a convergence of regulations.

Convergence through technical cooperation and mutual recognition of standards

In areas where differences between EU and US regulatory systems are mainly of a technical nature, e.g. technical environmental standards for motor vehicles, greater convergence could potentially be achieved through increased technical cooperation or mutual recognition of environmental regulations, without significant impacts on levels of portections. Finally, in areas where there are currently no binding regulations on either side of the Atlantic (e.g. nanomaterials), convergence may be easier to achieve through scientific and technical cooperation and better coordination of EU and US regulators.

The Ecologic team contributed, in particular, an overview of EU regulation on cloning, as well as on US regulation on food issues, fracking, fuel quality standards, clonning, and SPS measures.


Citation

Mudgal, Shailendra et al. 2014: ENVI Relevant Legislative Areas of the EU-US Trade and Investment Partnership Negotiations (TTIP). BIO by Deloitte, Ecologic Institute, Institute for European Environmental Policy. ISBN: 978-92-823-6137-5 (paper), 978-92-823-6136-8 (pdf).

Language
English
Author(s)
Shailendra Mudgal (BIO by Deloitte)
Katherine Salès (BIO by Deloitte)
Alice Landowski (BIO by Deloitte)
Otto Kern (BIO by Deloitte)
Juliette Mansard (BIO by Deloitte)
Martin Nesbit (Institute for European Environmental Policy)
Kamila Paquel (Institute for European Environmental Policy)
Sirini Withana (Institute for European Environmental Policy)
Year
2014
ISBN
978-92-823-6137-5 (paper), 978-92-823-6136-8 (pdf)
DOI
Dimension
96 pp.
Project ID
2615-02
Table of Contents

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY
1. INTRODUCTION TO THE TTIP NEGOTIATIONS
2. MEDICINES FOR HUMAN USE AND MEDICAL DEVICES
2.1. Legislation in the EU
2.1.1. Marketing authorisation process
2.1.2.Confidential business information
2.2. Legislation in the US
2.2.1. Marketing authorisation process
2.2.2. Confidential business information
2.3. Main differences between the EU and US legislation
3. COSMETICS
3.1. Legislation in the EU
3.1.1. Conditions for the marketing of cosmetics
3.1.2. Labelling
3.2. Legislation in the US
3.2.1. Conditions for the marketing of cosmetics
3.2.2. Labelling
3.3. Main differences between the EU and US legislation
4. FOOD AND NUTRITION
4.1. Legislation in the EU
4.1.1. Nutrition and health claims
4.2. Legislation in the US
4.2.1. Traceability
4.2.2. Nutrition and health claims
4.3. Main differences between the EU and US legislation
5. SANITARY AND PHYTO-SANITARY MEASURES
5.1. Legislation in the EU
5.1.1. Marketing authorisation procedures
5.1.2. Risk mitigation measures
5.2. Legislation in the US
5.2.1. Marketing authorisation procedures
5.2.2. Risk mitigation measures
5.3. Main differences between the EU and US legislation
6. NANOMATERIALS
6.1. Legislation in the EU
6.2. Legislation in the US
6.3. Main differences between the EU and US legislation
7. CLONING
7.1. Legislation in the EU
7.2. Legislation in the US
7.3. Main differences between EU and US legislation
8. RAW MATERIALS AND ENERGY
8.1. Legislation in the EU
8.1.1. Shale gas extraction permits
8.1.2. Fuel quality legislation
8.2. Legislation in the US
8.2.1. Shale gas extraction permits
8.2.2. Fuel quality legislation
8.3. Main differences between EU and US legislation
9. MOTOR VEHICLES
9.1. Legislation in the EU
9.1.1. Emission performance standards
9.1.2. CO2 emission performance requirements
9.2. Legislation in the US
9.2.1. Federal emission standards
9.2.2. California emission standards
9.3. Main differences between the EU and US legislation
CONCLUSIONS
10. REFERENCES

Keywords
Trade, investment, TTIP, Transatlantic Trade and Investment Partnership, environmental regulation, medicinal products, cosmetics, food, labelling, nutrition, sanitary and phyto-sanitary measures, SPS, nanomaterials, cloning, raw materials, energy, motor vehicles, consumer protection, EU, USA