Direkt zum Inhalt

Ambitious Climate Policy Through Centralization?

Cover image of the journal Climate Policy, reproduced with kind permission of Taylor & Francis
Print

Ambitious Climate Policy Through Centralization?

Evidence from the European Union

Publikation
Zitiervorschlag

Camilla Bausch, Benjamin Görlach & Michael Mehling (2016): Ambitious climate policy through centralization? Evidence from the European Union, Climate Policy, DOI:
10.1080/14693062.2016.1259100

Ein Gleichgewicht zwischen der Zentralisierung und Dezentralisierung von Kompetenzen zu erzielen, bleibt eine Herausforderung, die man bis an den Anfang der europäischen Integration zurückverfolgen kann. Manche Prozesse arbeiten auf eine Zentralisierung der EU-Klimapolitik hin, sowie zum Beispiel der Bedarf an erhöhten Klimamaßnahmen, die Integration des Elektrizitätsmarkts und eine Realisation der Europäischen Union. Gleichzeitig ist die Zentralisierung keine Garantie für anspruchsvollere Klimapolitik. In einer neuen Veröffentlichung im Climate Policy Journal verfolgen Camilla Bauch und Benjamin Görlach des Ecologic Instituts und Michael Mehling des Massachusetts Institute of Techonology (MIT) die Evolution und die Rolle der Debatte über Zentralisierung/Dezentralisierung im Rahmen der EU-Klimapolitik. Als Beispiel für Zentralisierung vs. Dezentralisierung begutachtet der Artikel den Emissionshandel und die Förderung von erneuerbaren Energien und warnt zudem, dass diese Entwicklungen nicht ebenmäßig sind und auch nicht unbedingt anhalten werden. Das dynamische und reflexive Governance-System der EU lässt keine Einheitsgröße, also keine optimale Balance zwischen zentralisierter und dezentralisierter Klimapolitik, zu.

Zentralisierung wird in diesem Artikel als Aggregation von Kompetenzen bezüglich Entscheidungen der Klimapolitik und Implementierung auf einer höheren Governance Ebene definiert - zum Beispiel auf EU Ebene im Vergleich zur nationalen Ebene. Ein Austausch besteht hierbei jedoch einerseits zwischen Koordination, Beständigkeit und klarer Führung und anderseits zwischen der Flexibilität, auf diverse nationale Umstände einzugehen. Dennoch führt die Zentralisierung nicht unbedingt zu anspruchsvolleren politischen Entscheidungen, wie am Beispiel des Emissionshandelsystems (ETS) der EU deutlich wird. Des Weiteren wenden die Autoren ein, dass Zentralisierung die Pioniere der unilateralen Klimaschutzmaßnehmen bremst. Wie auch im Feld der erneuerbaren Energien eingetreten ist, kann ein zentralisierter Ansatz politisches Experimentieren auf der nationalen Ebene und länderübergreifende Lerneffekte erleichtern. Auf der anderen Seite belegt Deutschland, dass Koordination und erhöhte Netzintegration unerlässlich bei der Akkommodation des steigenden Anteils an erneuerbaren Energien war, welches darauf hinweist, dass Zentralisierung in manchen Fällen für eine Ankurbelung der politischen Ambitionen gesorgt hat.

Zusammenfassend ist es schwierig, wenn nicht sogar unmöglich, für die Zentralisierung in der Klimapolitik ein optimales Level zu definieren. Klima- und Energiepolitik ist eine Zusammensetzung von unzähligen von einander abhängigen und sich entwickelnden Teilen, z.B. Energiemärkte, Preismechanismen (inklusive Emissionshandel), technologische und politisch ausgerichtete Entwicklungen (inklusive Marktdurchdringung erneuerbarer Energien oder Energieeffizienz), aber auch unter Einbezug von Bedenken bezüglich Wettbewerbsfähigkeit, Versorgungssicherheit und Finanzierbarkeit. Es ist hierbei hilfreich, die jeweiligen Implikationen des zentralisierten oder dezentralisierten Ansatzes für jeden Fall einzeln zu betrachten, bevor grobe Schlussfolgerungen getätigt werden.

Anspruchsvolle Klimapolitik mittels Zentralisierung? Vielschichtige Erfahrungen in der Europäischen Union

Kontakt

Sprache
Englisch
Autorenschaft
Veröffentlicht in
Climate Policy
Verlag
Jahr
Umfang
19 pp.
ISSN
1469-3062 (print), 1752-7457 (online)
DOI
Inhaltsverzeichnis
Schlüsselwörter
Zentralisierung, Klimapolitik, Dezentralisierung , EU ETS, Europäische Union, Mitgliedstaaten, erneuerbare Energie
Europa

• English
  • Deutsch
Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon
Twitter icon
YouTube icon
Header image Ecologic

Ambitious Climate Policy Through Centralization?

Ambitious Climate Policy Through Centralization?

Evidence from the European Union

Striking a balance between centralization and decentralization of competences is a challenge that dates to the start of European integration. There are some drivers that work towards greater centralization of EU climate policies – the need for enhanced climate action, electricity market integration and a realization of the Energy Union. At the same time, centralization in and of itself is not a guarantee for more ambitious or effective climate policies. In a new publication appearing in the journal Climate Policy authors Camilla Bausch and Benjamin Görlach of Ecologic Institute and Michael Mehling of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) trace the evolution and role of the centralization/decentralization debate in the context of EU climate policy. The article looks at emissions trading and the promotion of renewable energy as cases of centralization vs. decentralization, but cautions that this trend is neither smooth nor guaranteed to persist. In the dynamic and reflexive governance system of the EU, there is no one-size-fits-all, optimal balance between centralized and decentralized policy from a climate perspective.

Centralization, as defined in the paper, is the aggregation of competencies concerning climate policy decisions and implementation at a higher level of governance—for example, at the EU as opposed to the national level. However, a tradeoff exists between enhanced coordination, consistency and clear leadership on the one hand and flexibility to account for diverse national circumstances on the other. Nevertheless, centralization does not necessarily lead to more ambitious policies, as exemplified by the struggling EU Emissions Trading System (ETS). Further, the authors argue that centralization can also slow down climate pioneers from ambitious unilateral action. As has occurred in the renewable energy field, a more decentralized approach can facilitate policy experimentation at the national level and cross-border policy learning. On the other hand, evidence from Germany showing that coordination and increased grid integration have been essential in accommodating rising shares of renewables suggests that in some cases centralization has been vital for boosting ambition.

In conclusion, it is difficult—if not impossible—to define an optimal level of centralization in climate policy. Climate and energy policies are a mixture of numerous interdependent and evolving parts—i.e., energy markets, pricing mechanisms (including emissions trading), technological and policy-driven developments (including renewable energy penetration or energy efficiency), but also involving concerns about competitiveness, security of supply and affordability. It is more helpful to carefully consider the implications of a centralized or decentralized approach for each case than paint with a broad brush.


Citation

Camilla Bausch, Benjamin Görlach & Michael Mehling (2016): Ambitious climate policy through centralization? Evidence from the European Union, Climate Policy, DOI:
10.1080/14693062.2016.1259100

Language
English
Publisher
Year
2016
Published In
ISSN
1469-3062 (print), 1752-7457 (online)
Dimension
19 pp.
Table of Contents

1. Introduction
2. Definitions and methodology
3. Advantages and disadvantages of centralization and decentralization
4. Centralization and decentralization as a defining struggle in EU climate policy
5. Detailed analysis of core EU climate and energy policies
6. Conclusions

Keywords
Centralization, climate policy, decentralization, EU ETS, European Union, member states, national policies, renewable energy, Europe