Direkt zum Inhalt

Nutzung von ökonomischen Instrumenten im Abfallmanagement

©Tai111|Fotolia.com

Print

Nutzung von ökonomischen Instrumenten im Abfallmanagement

Projekt
Dauer
-

Dieses Projekt analysierte Möglichkeiten eines gemeinsamen europäischen Ansatzes zur Nutzung von ökonomischen Instrumenten im Abfallmanagement. Die Ergebnisse der Studie zeigen, dass Deponiegebühren und Systeme der Herstellerverantwortung von den meisten Mitgliedsstaaten bereits eingeführt wurden. Verursacherbezogene Abfallgebührensysteme wurden bisher nur in der Hälfte der Mitgliedsstaaten installiert. Aus den Ergebnissen wurden drei Haupt-Politikempfehlungen abgeleitet: eine Mindesthöhe an Deponiesteuern sollte in allen Mitgliedsstaaten eingeführt werden, für Systeme mit Herstellergarantie sollten Kriterien bzw. Leitlinien für das Design dieser Systeme entwickelt werden und die Mitgliedsstaaten sollten zur Nutzung von Gebühren ermutigt werden, so dass Abfallverursachern in Abstimmung mit der Abfallhierarchie Anreize gesetzt werden. Die Studie steht zum Download bereit.

Die Studie im Auftrag der Europäischen Kommission, GD Umwelt, hat das Ziel Informationen für die Weiterentwicklung der thematischen Strategie für Abfallvermeidung und –recycling zu liefern. Sie analysiert das Abfallmanagement der EU Mitgliedsstaaten und die Nutzung der folgenden ökonomischen Instrumenten: (I) Gebühren für Abfallentsorgung und –behandlung, (II) verursacherbezogene Abfallgebührensysteme (Pay-as-you-throw) und (III) Systeme der Herstellerverantwortung für verschiedene Abfallströme (vor allem Verpackung, Elektro- und Elektronik-Altgeräte, Altfahrzeuge und Batterien).

Die Ergebnisse basieren auf einer Literaturanalyse in allen Mitgliedsstaaten und Fallstudien mit Hilfe einzelner Experteninterviews für ausgewählte Mitgliedsstaaten sowie bereits eingesetzte ökonomische Instrumente. Weiterhin wurde eine Modellierung durchgeführt, die zeigt, welche Auswirkungen eine Implementierung von ökonomischen Instrumenten auf die Abfallströme hätte.

Kontakt

Mehr Inhalte aus diesem Projekt

Finanzierung
Partner
Eunomia (Eunomia), Großbritannien
Team
Alexander Neubauer
Dr. Hubert Reisinger
Mike Van Acoleyen
Dauer
-
Projekt-ID
Schlüsselwörter
Ressourcen, Abfall, Ökonomische Instrumente, Abfallentsorgungsgebühren, verursacherbezogene Abfallgebührensysteme, Herstellerverantwortung, Abfallströme
Europa

• English
  • Deutsch
Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon
Twitter icon
YouTube icon
Header image Ecologic

Use of the Economic Instruments and Waste Management Perfomances


Use of the Economic Instruments and Waste Management Perfomances

The objective of the present study is to analyze the relationship between the performance of the waste management systems in the EU Member States (MS) and their use of economic instruments (EI). On the basis of this analysis, the opportunity to move towards a European common approach for the use of EIs in relation to waste management is explored. The results show that landfill charges and product responsibility schemes are implemented in most MS. Pay-as-you-throw (PAYT) systems have only been introduced in half of the MS. Three main policy recommendations have been identified in the study: setting a minimum level of landfill tax to be applied in all MS, setting criteria/producing guidance for the design of producer responsibility schemes, and encouraging the use of charging that ensures waste generators face incentives in line with the waste hierarchy. The study is available for download.

The study undertaken for DG Environment aims to provide supporting information and analysis for the European Commission in the preparation of the follow up on the Thematic Strategy on the Prevention and Recycling of Waste. To this end, the study analyses the relationship between the performances of the waste management systems of the EU Member States (MS) and their use of the following selected economic instruments (EIs): (I) Charges for waste disposal and treatment, in particular landfill and incineration taxes and fees, (II) Pay-as-you-throw (PAYT) schemes; and (III) Producer responsibility schemes for specific waste streams (notably packaging, WEEE, ELV and batteries).

The results are based on a literature research in all member states and case studies with several expert interviews for some more detailed analysis. Furthermore, the further modelling exercise was undertaken to investigate what might be the effect of implementing new (sets of) EIs in the waste sector.

European Commission, Directorate-General Environment (DG Environment)
BIO Intelligence Service (BIO IS), France
Eunomia (Eunomia), United Kingdom
Arcadis (Arcadis), Netherlands
January 2011 to October 2011
Project ID
resources, waste, economic instruments, landfill taxes, incineration taxes, pay-as-you-throw systems, producer responsibility schemes, Europe