Direkt zum Inhalt

Ökonomische und soziale Analyse für die Bewertung von Meeren

| © Bernd Fiehöfer
Print PDF

Ökonomische und soziale Analyse für die Bewertung von Meeren

Präsentation
Datum
Ort
Berlin, Deutschland
Podiumsdiskussion
Benjamin Boteler

Welche Bedeutung hat die Ostsee für die Gesellschaft? Wie tragen die menschlichen Aktivitäten zur nationalen und regionalen Wirtschaft bei? Wie trägt der Zustand der Meere zum Wohlergehen der gegenwärtigen und zukünftigen Generationen bei? Die EU-Strategie für den Ostseeraum (EUSBSR) brachte rund 800 Akteure der Ostseeregion zusammen, um über die gemeinsamen Herausforderungen, die EU-Strategien und deren Zielen zu diskutieren. Benjamin Boteler vom Ecologic Institut nahm an der HELCOM-Podiumsdiskussion "Latest status of the sea revealed" teil, die am 13. Juni 2017 stattfand.

Für die Präsentationen und Diskussionen kamen Monika Stankiewicz (HELCOM), Erja Tikka (Finnisches Außenministerium), Thomas Johansson (Swedish Agency for Marine and Water Management), Monika Luxem-Fritsch (BMUB), Michail Durkin (Coalition Clean Baltic) und Heini Ahtiainen (HELCOM) zusammen.

Hauptthema der Diskussionen war der im Juni veröffentlichte HELCOM-Bericht "State oft he Baltic Sea", der einen ganzheitlichen Blick auf den aktuellen Zustand der Meere bietet. Des Weiteren werden der Druck und die kumulativen Auswirkungen der menschlichen Aktivitäten sowie die sozialen und ökonomischen Dimensionen der Ostsee beurteilt. Der regionale Bericht ist eine koordinierte Bewertung und stellt eine der wichtigsten Unternehmungen der Länder der Ostseeregion dar. Er kann genutzt werden, um die Fortschritte bei der Erreichung des gemeinsamen Ziels des HELCOM Ostseeaktionsplans und der EUSBSR eine gesunde Ostsee zu schaffen, zu bewerten. Der Bericht dient ebenfalls als Ausgangssituation für die Weiterverfolgung der UN-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die in Zusammenhang mit der Ostsee stehen und bis 2030 erreicht werden sollen.

Das achte jährliche Forum fand dieses Jahr am 13. und 14. Juni 2017 in Berlin statt. Die Veranstaltung wurde vom deutschen Auswärtigen Amt zusammen mit der CPMR Baltic Sea Commission und in enger Zusammenarbeit mit der Europäischen Kommission organisiert.

Ganzheitliche Bewertungen, die soziale und ökologische Systeme zusammenbringen, sind für die Entwicklung einer effektiven Meerespolitik essenziell.
Veranstaltung
veranstaltet von
Podiumsdiskussion
Benjamin Boteler
Datum
Ort
Berlin, Deutschland
Sprache
Englisch
Schlüsselwörter
Marine, Sozioökonomie, Politik, Blaues Wachstum, EU 2020 Meeres-Strategie
Ostsee

• English
  • Deutsch
Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon
Twitter icon
YouTube icon
Header image Ecologic

Economic and Social Analysis for Marine Assessments

Economic and Social Analysis for Marine Assessments

TimeLoc
13 June 2017
Berlin
Germany
Holistic assessments which link social and ecological systems are essential to develop effective marine policy.

What is the importance of the Baltic Sea marine environment to society? How do human activities contribute to national and regional economies? How does the state of the marine environment contribute to the well-being of current and future generations? The EU Strategy for the Baltic Sea Region (EUSBSR) brought together around 800 players active in the Baltic Sea region to reflect on common challenges, the EU Strategy and its objectives. Ecologic Institute's Benjamin Boteler was invited to participate as a panelist at the HELCOM session "Latest status of the sea revealed" held on 13 June 2017.

The presentations and discussions brought togeher Monika Stankiewicz (HELCOM), Erja Tikka (Ministry for Foreign Affairs, Finland), Thomas Johansson (Swedish Agency for Marine and Water Management), Monika Luxem-Fritsch (Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation, Building and Nuclear Safety, Germany), Mikhail Durkin (Coalition Clean Baltic), and Heini Ahtiainen (HELCOM). 

The discussions focused on the recenctly published HELCOM State of the Baltic Sea report which provides a holistic view on the latest status of the marine environment. The pressures and cumulative impacts from human activities and social and economic dimensions in the whole Baltic Sea are also assessed. The regional report is a coordinated assessment and a major undertaking of all Baltic Sea countries. It can be used to analyze the progress for achieving the shared goal of the HELCOM Baltic Sea Action Plan and of the EUSBSR to achieve a healthy Baltic Sea. It will also provide a baseline for following-up the ocean-related United Nations Sustainable Development Goals in the Baltic Sea to be achieved by 2030.

The 8th Annual Forum was hosted by the Federal Foreign Office together with the CPMR Baltic Sea Commission and in close cooperation with the European Commission on 13 and 14 June 2017 in Berlin.


Organizer
Date
13 June 2017
Location
Berlin, Germany
Language
English
Keywords
marine, socio-economics, policy, Blue Growth, Marine Strategy Framework Directive, Baltic Sea