Direkt zum Inhalt

Europäische Konferenz zur Klimaanpassung (ECCA) 2015

Print PDF

Europäische Konferenz zur Klimaanpassung (ECCA) 2015

Veranstaltung
Datum
-
Ort
Kopenhagen, Dänemark

Auf der ECCA 2015 wurden eine Reihe von Fragen zur Anpassung an den Klimawandel unter dem Thema "Integration von Klimaanpassungsmaßnahmen in Wissenschaft, Politik, Praxis und Wirtschaft" bearbeitet. Die dreitägige Konferenz fand von 12. bis 14. Mai 2015 in Kopenhagen, Dänemark statt. Zusätzlich fand eine Postersession statt und es wurden drei Exkursionen von State of Green Tours zu innovativen lokalen Klimaanpassungsmaßnahmen angeboten.

Das Ziel der Konferenz war es, eine europäische Plattform zur Anpassung an den Klimawandel für Wissenschaftler, Praktiker, Wirtschaft und politischen Entscheidungsträgern europäischer und internationaler Organisationen zu bieten. Von diesen Akteursgruppen nahmen 760 Personen aus 46 verschiedenen Ländern teil. Über 100 Studenten waren ebenfalls anwesend.

Unter der Schirmherrschaft der Europäischen Kommission wurde die ECCA 2015 gemeinsam von drei großen europäischen Forschungsprojekten zum Thema Klimaanpassung (BASE (link is external), RAMSES (link is external) und ToPDAd (link is external)), unter der Koordination der Universität Århus und dem Ecologic Institut organisiert. Unterstützt wurde die Konferenz dabei vom Dachverband der dänischen Industrie, der Stadt Kopenhagen, der Europäischen Umweltagentur sowie der offiziellen Konferenz-Airline SAS (Möglichkeit der CO2-Kompensation).

In der Eröffnungs- und Abschlussveranstaltung hielten hochrangige Referenten Vorträge, darunter waren Kurt Vandenberghe (Europäische Kommission), Tine Roed (Stellvertretende Generaldirektorin des Dachverbandes der dänischen Industrie), Jens Hesselbjerg Christensen (Dänisches Meteorologisches Institut (DMI)), Frans Berkhout (Kings College, London), Jiang Tong (China Meteorological Administration), Claus Kondrup (Europäische Kommission, DG Clima), Linda Romanovska (Mayors Adapt), Sarah Hendel-Blackford (Ecofys, UK), Connie Hedegaard (KR Foundation), Rasmus Valanko (WBCSD), Bente Pretlove (DNV GL), Jean Palutikof (Griffith University), Hans von Storch (Helmholtz Zentrum Geesthacht), Panos Fetsis (EU Life Projects – AIEDL), Henk Ovink (International Water Affairs, the Netherlands) Amanda Cockroft (Climate-KIC Nordic). Zusätzlich organisierte eine Gruppe von 30 Neuntklässlern einer örtlichen Schule einen Workshop, in der sie eine beeindruckende Botschaft für die Abschlusssitzung der ECCA 2015 erarbeiteten. Zwei musikalische Darbietungen ergänzten die Veranstaltung: Mohammad Reza Mortazavi spielte Percussions und Behnam Shirazi an der Gitarre.

Im Laufe der drei Tage wurden neun mittägliche Plenarvorträge gehalten und 66 parallele Session, 23 Workshops sowie eine mehrtägige Posterausstellung fanden statt. In zwei Sessions wurden die politischen Initiativen der Europäischen Kommission zu Klimadienstleistungen und Natur-basierte Lösungen sowie zu Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten im Rahmen von Horizon 2020 vorgestellt.

Insgesamt präsentierten mehr als 600 Autoren ihre Arbeit in Anpassungs- und Klimaschutzthemen, einschließlich Betriebswirtschaft, Volkswirtschaft, urbane Anpassung, sektorale Anpassung, Infrastrukturen, Governance, Sozialwissenschaften und Partizipation, Klimadienstleistungen, sowie Risiken und regionsspezifische Fragen. Die Qualität der wissenschaftlichen und praxis-relevanten Präsentationen, sowie der Workshops und Poster waren ausgezeichnet. Jüngere Forscher konnten ihre Arbeiten präsentieren und Netzwerke aufbauen. Das Gender-Verhältnis unter den Vortragenden (einschließlich der Eröffnungs- und Abschlussveranstaltung) war nahe an 50/50.

Am Dienstag, 12. Mai 2015, wurden drei Exkursionen von State of Green organisiert: eine Tour zum Strandpark Køge Bugt, einem der größten dänischen Klimaanpassungsprojekte; eine Exkursion in das St. Kjelds Viertel und Besuch Kopenhagens erster klimaangepasster Nachbarschaft, sowie einer Tour zum Musicon Rabalder Parken und Kennenlernen ihrer Lösungsansätze zu Überflutungen im Stadtgebiet.

Eine breite Palette von Kommunikationsaktivitäten gewährleistete die Sichtbarkeit und Bekanntmachung der Konferenz. Hintergrundinformationen wurde durch die Konferenz-Website und Broschüre zur Verfügung gestellt. Updates über das Programm sowie Call for Abstracts wurden umgehend über den Twitter-Account bekannt gegeben, der auch eine Live-Berichterstattung der Veranstaltung sicherstellte. Eine Reihe von Pressemitteilungen wurde in der Vorbereitungsphase der Konferenz an entsprechende Kontakte vermittelt.

Innerhalb des Projektes BASE leitet das Ecologic Institut u. a. den Bereich der Wissensvermittlung und des Wissenstransfers und koordiniert den Austausch mit den unterschiedlichen Interessengruppen zu den Themen Auswirkungen, Kosten und Nutzen von Anpassungsmaßnahmen. In Kooperation mit den Schwesterprojekten RAMSES und TopDad, koordiniert das Ecologic Institut den wissenschaftlichen Programmausschuss, welcher die Entwicklung des ECCA 2015-Programms verantwortet.

Als eines der drei ECCA 2015 organisierenden europäischen Anpassungsprojekt spielten die BASE-Wissenschaftler eine wichtige Rolle bei der Konferenz. Insgesamt organisierten Wissenschaftler aus BASE neun Sessions, ein Workshop und präsentierten BASE Ergebnisse als Vorträge oder Poster. Unter diesen Session waren folgende:

  • 'Economic Instruments of Adaptation' präsentierte sechs verschiedene ökonomische Instrumente zur Unterstützung von Entscheidungsprozessen. 
  • 'Climate Change and Public Health' Session hob die direkten und indirekten Folgen des Klimawandel auf gesellschaftliche Gesundheitsaspekte hervor.
  • 'Safeguarding our Shores: Social and Cultural Dimensions of Coastal Climate Change Adaptation in Europe and the United States' folgerte, dass kulturelle Werte Risikowahrnehmung und Reaktionsbereitschaft bestimmen und daher in Politik und Wissenschaft entsprechend anerkannt und bearbeitet werden.
  • 'The role and use of participatory methodologies in climate change adaptation' war ein BASE Workshop, der hervorhob das partizipative Methoden ein fundamentales Element in Konfliktlösungen, Stakeholder-Engagement und Bürgerbeteiligung sind um gemeinsame Visionen zu entwickeln.

Weitere Sessions waren unter Beteiligung von BASE-Akteuren waren:

  • Multi-level government and climate change adaptation: reconciling bottom-up and top-down perspectives?
  • Adaptation policies and measures in the Mediterranean region.
  • Decision support in climate change adaptation – Supply and demand side perspectives.
  • An integrated perspective on climate change adaptation and mitigation. Insights from global economic models.
  • Drawing lessons from national experiences of adaptation planning and strategy making.

Der Ausstellungsstand, betreut vom BASE Projekt, bot einen Raum für Netzwerkaktivitäten, informative Diskussionen und Materialien.

Außerdem wurde dort auch das aktuelle BASE Video über Herausforderungen des Klimawandels vorgeführt. Das Video kann auch hier angesehen werden:

BASE kündigte auch einen Training Course zu Anpassung an, der vom 28-31. Oktober 2015 in Portugal durchgeführt wird. Der Kurs richtet sich an Praktiker in der Klimaanpassung und deckt Themen wie Ökonomische Analysen (CBA, CEA, MCA), partizipative Aspekte in der Klimaanpassung sowie dem Thema der Implementationsanalyse ab. Weitere Informationen finden sich auf der Base Adaptation Website (link is external).

Die ECCA2015 Konferenz zeigte, dass Synergien zwischen EU Projekten die europäischen Netzwerke zur Klimaanpassung stärken können. Mehr Anstrengungen sind jedoch nötig um die Wirtschaft zu integrieren. Auch die Integration zwischen Anpassung und Katastrophenvorsorge ist nach wie vor nur im Entstehen begriffen.

Die Möglichkeit klimabezogene Unsicherheiten zu reduzieren, erleichtert risikobehaftete Entscheidungsfindung, strategisches Investment basierend auf sorgfältigen Untersuchungen sowie, in manchen Fällen, mutige Entscheidungen und Handlungen.

Die ECCA 2017 wird vom 6. – 8. Juni2017 in Glasgow, Schottland, unter dem Vorsitz von Dr. Paula Harrison, Oxford Universität, stattfinden.

Das detaillierte Konferenzprogramm ist weiterhin hier (link is external) einsehbar.

Kontakt

Mehr Inhalte aus diesem Projekt

Finanzierung
veranstaltet von
Team
Datum
-
Ort
Kopenhagen, Dänemark
Sprache
Englisch
Participants
760
Projekt
Projekt-ID
Schlüsselwörter
ECCA, Klimawandel, Klima, Nachhaltigkeit,Klimaschutz

• English
  • Deutsch
Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon
Twitter icon
YouTube icon
Header image Ecologic

European Climate Change Adaptation (ECCA) Conference 2015

European Climate Change Adaptation (ECCA) Conference 2015

Timeloc
12 May 2015 to 15 May 2015
Copenhagen
Denmark

The ECCA 2015 covered a range of issues related to climate adaptation under the theme, "Integrating climate adaptation action in science, policy, practice, and business." The three-day conference took place from 12 to 14 May 2015 in Copenhagen, Denmark. The conference also featured a poster commercial, as well as three State of Green Tours to see innovative, local adaptation activities in action.

The aim of the conference was to consolidate and create a European platform for interactions among scientists, practitioners, policymakers businesses and European and international organisations about climate change adaptation. The conference attracted 760 participants from 46 different countries across all groups. Over 100 students were also in attendance.

ECCA 2015 was organised on behalf of the European Commission by three major European climate adaptation research projects: BASE (link is external), RAMSES (link is external) and ToPDAd (link is external), under the coordination of Aarhus University and Ecologic Institute. Among the sponsors were the Confederation of Danish Industry, the City of Copenhagen, the European Environment Agency and the official conference airline SAS (providing carbon offsets).

The opening and the closing sessions featured high-ranking keynote speakers, including: Kurt Vandenberghe, European Commission; Hans Bruyninckx, European Environment Agency; Tine Roed, Deputy Director General at The Confederation of Danish Industry; Jens Hesselbjerg Christensen, The Danish Meteorological Institute (DMI); Frans Berkhout, Kings College, London; Jiang Tong, China Meteorological Administration; Claus Kondrup, European Commission's Directorate-General for Climate Action; Linda Romanovska, Mayors Adapt; Sarah Hendel-Blackford, Ecofys, UK; Connie Hedegaard, KR Foundation; Rasmus Valanko, WBCSD; Bente Pretlove, DNV GL; Jean Palutikof, Griffith University; Hans von Storch, Helmholtz Zentrum Geesthacht; Panos Fetsis, EU Life Projects – AIEDL; Henk Ovink, International Water Affairs, the Netherlands; Amanda Cockroft, Climate-KIC Nordic. In addition, a group of 30 ninth graders from a local school hosted a workshop, where they delivered a stunning message at the closing session of ECCA 2015. Two musical performances energised the sessions: Mohammad Reza Mortazavi on percussion and Behnam Shirazi on guitar.

Over the three days, nine mid-day plenary presentations, 66 parallel sessions, 23 workshops and a multi-day poster exhibition took place. Two sessions featured the European Commission’s policy initiatives on climate services and nature-based solutions, as well as their funding on Horizon 2020.

In total, more than 600 authors presented their work on adaptation and mitigation related topics, including business, economics, urban adaptation, sectoral adaptation, infrastructure, governance, social sciences and participation, climate services, risks and region-specific issues. The quality of the scientific and practical presentations, as well as of the workshops and posters were excellent. Younger researchers were able to present their work and engage in networking. The gender split among participants in the panels at the Opening and Closing sessions) was very close to 50/50.

On Tuesday 12 May 2015, three site visits were organised by State of Green: a tour to Køge Bugt Beach Park, one of Denmark's largest climate adaptation projects; a visit to St. Kjelds Quarter, Copenhagen's first climate adapted neighbourhood; and a tour to Musicon Rabalder Parken, functioning as a climate adaptation solution to withstand storm water.

A broad range of communication activities ensured visibility to the conference and adequate outreach. Background information was made available through the conference website and leaflet. Updates on the programme and calls for proposals and papers were promptly announced via the Twitter account, which also ensured live coverage of the event. A series of press releases were produced and distributed in the preparation phase.

Within the BASE Project, Ecologic Institute leads the uptake, transfer, and dissemination of the knowledge produced by BASE. In addition, Ecologic Institute coordinates engagement with stakeholders on the impacts, costs, and benefits of adaptation. In this role, and in cooperation with its sister projects RAMSES and TopDad, it coordinated the Scientific Programme Committee in charge of the development of the ECCA 2015 programme.

In particular, as one of three European adaptation projects organising the conference, BASE researchers played a major role in the activities at ECCA 2015. Overall, BASE researchers were involved in chairing nine sessions, one workshop as well as presenting BASE results in several presentations and posters. Among these sessions were the following:

  • 'Economic Instruments of Adaptation' presented six different instruments aimed at supporting decision-making processes.
  • 'Ecosystem-based Approaches to Adaptation and Disaster Risk Reduction' session presented how ecosystem-based approaches should become an inseparable component of adaptation planning and strategies.
  • 'Climate Change and Public Health' session highlighted the direct and indirect effects of climate change on the public.
  • 'Safeguarding our Shores: Social and Cultural Dimensions of Coastal Climate Change Adaptation in Europe and the United States' concluded that cultural values drive risk perception, response preparedness and must therefore be strongly acknowledged in policy and science.
  • 'The role and use of participatory methodologies in climate change adaptation' was a BASE workshop highlighting how the use of participatory methods can be a fundamental piece in conflict resolution, stakeholder engagement and citizen involvement towards a common vision. 

Other sessions included:

  • Multi-level government and climate change adaptation: reconciling bottom-up and top-down perspectives?
  • Adaptation policies and measures in the Mediterranean region.
  • Decision support in climate change adaptation – Supply and demand side perspectives.
  • An integrated perspective on climate change adaptation and mitigation. Insights from global economic models.
  • Drawing lessons from national experiences of adaptation planning and strategy making.

The exhibition booth, hosted by the BASE project, provided a space for sharing printed materials, networking and informative discussions.

At the booth, the latest BASE video on climate change challenges was showcased, and can be viewed here:

BASE also announced a training course on adaptation to be held in Portugal from 28—31 October 2015. The course is aimed at adaptation practitioners and will cover topics like Integral Economic Analysis (CBA, CEA, MCAs), Participatory Aspects in Adaptation Processes, and Implementation Analysis. More information is available on the Base Adaptation Website (link is external).

The ECCA 2015 conference showed that synergy between more EU projects could help consolidate the European climate change adaptation community. More efforts are needed to integrate the business community, as the integration between adaptation and disaster risk reduction is still only starting to emerge.

The ability to reduce climate related uncertainties allows for risk-based decision-making, strategic investments based on careful assessments and, sometimes, bold decisions and actions.

The next ECCA 2017 will be held 6—8 June 2017 in Glasgow, Scotland and will be chaired by Dr. Paula Harrison, Oxford University.

The detailed conference programme is still available here (link is external).


Funding
European Commission, Directorate-General Research & Innovation (DG Research & Innovation)
Date
12 May 2015 to 15 May 2015
Location
Copenhagen, Denmark
Language
English
Number of Participants
760
Project ID
2716
Keywords
ECCA, climate change, climate, sustainability, climate mitigation